Image A strange question I know!  But I will explain… As well as loving the written and spoken word, one of my passions is cookery.  I like making dishes completely from scratch (maybe not completely – I’d rather use ready-made pastry) but anyway, a few years ago before the internet took off, I was into reading the occasional recipe book.  I acquired one containing a recipe for Mallorcan Tumbet.  The author described it as “layered baked vegetables” originally from Mallorca, (otherwise Majorca in Spain.)

From time to time, I am in the habit of letting go of old possessions, so one day, I had a purge of recipes and decided to throw out the book, which was too damaged to sell or donate.  I ripped out the pages I found interesting, with the intention of actually making the recipes.  One day.  And so many years passed and I still hadn’t made Mallorcan Tumbet!  After another purge recently, I decided enough was enough and I had to make this recipe.

So I finally did!  And it’s that simple really.  I’m the kind of person who likes to get things done, rather than sit around discussing them for ages.  It’s the reason you will never find me on a formal committee!  I so can’t stand having discussions about the ins and outs of things and then the event/project/idea doesn’t get off the ground.  So for me, having that recipe, reminded me of something I had not done, and represented in a symbolic way, things that were holding me back and projects I still am birthing into being!

Now I can feel a bit of minor liberation.  So perhaps you would like to do the same?  So go on, what’s your Mallorcan Tumbet?  What is that minor thing you have been saying you will do?  Repair the cupboard handle perhaps?  Tidy that corner?  Bake a cake!?  Or is it something larger or more ambitious?

Anyway, you don’t have to make Mallorcan Tumbet, but I do encourage you, if you’ve got something that you have been thinking of doing for years, to just DO IT!  I’m sure it’s something much more exciting – like – learning to ski, buying a dog, visiting Russia, dying your hair blue or something even better than all of those!  Whatever it is, seize the moment and let it be a catalyst for moving forward in your life.  And if you feel like it, you can comment here or facebook/tweet me, tell me what you’ve done and why you’re glad you have!

Happy Summer everyone!  And thanks for reading…

And for those of you who are curious about the recipe, here it is in my own words, with added adaptions from me..

For 4 people

400 g potatoes, 400 g aubergines, 2 sweet peppers, 3 tbsp. olive oil, salt, pepper. (I added mushrooms, courgettes & onions)ImageImageImage

And for the sauce: 400 g tinned tomatoes, tsp of oregano, 3 slice garlic cloves and 2 tbsp. olive oil.

Make sauce by placing tomatoes, oregano, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper in a saucepan, and simmering for 20 minutes   Image  Then heat the oven to 180C/ Gas 4 and meanwhile, peel and slice potatoes, slice the aubergines and cut the peppers into long thin fingers, discarding the core,etc.  Heat 2 tbsp. oil in a pan and fry the potato until golden.  Layer in a baking dish and season.  Image Then add remaining oil to the pan and fry aubergine until browned.  My tip would be to add lemon juice, oil or salt to aubergine after chopping to stop it browning in the air too much.  I fried the mushrooms and courgettes with the peppers and then layered these over the cooked potatoes and aubergine.  But I would recommend not using too much oil (as I overdid it!) and cutting the potatoes in fine slices rather than dicing.

Then spoon the cooked sauce (with extra onion if liked) over the vegetables and bake for twenty minutes until bubbling hot.  Image  My additional tip would be to grate some cheese on top or add a spoonful of cream cheese to add interest!  But you can serve without with a green salad…Image Bon Appetit!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

